My Internal Dialog by Salvia



Jessie Davis – It’s not about interracial sex, as Rachelstavern would have you believe!

It seems as if my post yesterday calling bullshit on a post from Rachelstavern.com has really worked some people up.

I thought for a moment – asked myself if I was missing something – and then came to my senses. In doing so, I decided to search the news.google.com archive for the earliest stories on the case that I could find. Here is one from the AP (posted 6/21). Interesting, no mention of race at all in the coverage, but there was this:

“The little boy told investigators: “Mommy was crying. Mommy broke the table. Mommy’s in rug.””

Also…

“Authorities have repeatedly talked with and searched the home of the man who fathered Davis’ son, although investigators have said Canton police officer Bobby Cutts Jr. is not a suspect. Cutts, 30, says he had nothing to do with Davis’ disappearance. The woman’s family also says he is the father of Davis’ unborn baby.”

Did they say authorities have repeatedly talked with and search the home of the BLACK man who fathered Davis’ son? Nope, don’t think so.

Ok, so that is one story… what else is there? Cantonrep.com has a story about the surveillance tape of Cutts at sports bar seized. Here is what they say about Cutts:

Cutts, a Canton police officer who was off-duty that day, came into Champs, a bar and restaurant on 30th Street NE, around 9:30 p.m. and didn’t leave until 12:30 a.m., according to bar owner John Shaheen.”

According the article was Cutts a BLACK police officer? No!

Now there are two random stories. Let’s take a third (just for shit and grins). This one comes from wkyc.com titled Details emerge about boyfriend’s whereabouts in missing mom case

“Early in the investigation, sheriff’s investigators said Davis’ boyfriend, Bobby Cutts Jr’s, alibi checked out. But when asked directly by a Canton newspaper reporter, Cutts would not speak of his whereabouts.”

Hmm…. No mention of Cutts being Davis’ BLACK boyfriend.

Mindy from the comment section put’s it best (spelling left as was originally posted):

interrational relationship has nothing to with the murder! I’m in a interrational marriage and have a mixed son just like Jessie Davis and my husband isn’t the sterotype rachel think he is. WHITE GIRLS get murdered every day while being pregnant or not by every race. Everyone is forgetting he is a police officer who killed his girl infront of his 2 year old son and then just left him to find for him self or maybe even die if no one found him.

Two out of the three stories do mention that Cutts is a police officer, one mentions the comments the son made… and NONE mention race.

Let me be very clear here. I DO think racial tension exists in the U.S., I just don’t think this case (as shown by the media when first reported) had anything to do with interracial sex. Sorry, Rachel, your claim that this is about interracial sex just doesn’t hold up. If there is anyone making this a racial story, it’s Rachel.

Update – please don’t complain that I didn’t take a random sample in my search for news stories. I did an ‘advanced search’ on google news with a date range from 5/19 to 6/23. The earlies stories came in on 6/21 and I pick three random from pages 1, 5 and 7.


    Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Right Truth trackbacked on 7 years, 1 month ago

Comments

  1. * Debbie says:

    Thank you so much for the kind words yesterday. I appreciate it very much. I got home late last night and am feeling good this morning.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  • * B says:

    I’m getting confused here… In your previous post, you found fault with Rachel saying that the *media’s focus* on the case was a result of race.

    Mindy, however, seems to be saying that Rachel is saying that race *caused* the murder, and that she disagrees with this assessment.

    Rachel never said that race caused the murder (see my overly long response to Mindy on the previous post).

    Do you now agree with Mindy and think that Rachel’s blog is blaming race on the actual incident, or as in your original post, do you find fault with her assessment that the media’s focus on the case was a result of race?

    It seems to me that it is certainly your prerogative to find fault with the latter, as we can always disagree with people, but it doesn’t seem fair to find fault with the former since it is a distinct misreading of the post.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  • * kELLEY says:

    DID YOU GUYS FORGET THAT IT DOESN’T MATTER. fIRST YOU ARE INNOCENT UNTIL PROVEN GUILTY. AND MURDER IS JUST THAT MURDER. NOT TO MENTION A CHILD LEFT ALONE BY WHOMEVER IS THE KILLER. WHAT RACE THEY ARE IS NOT IMPORTANT. HOWEVER, WHAT IS UP WITH A 5 MILLION DOLLAR BOND? EVEN OJ ONLY HAD 1 MIL?

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  • * myinternaldialog says:

    @B:

    You are correct, I believe Rachel is incorrect, the *media’s focus* on the case was is not a result of result of race.

    I believe I didn’t back up my comment from Mindy correctly – I was referring to the fact that he was a cop. My error and thank you for correcting me on it.

    @kELLEY

    Actually, I think it does matter – if Rachel is correct or not, I think this is a great discussion to have.

    You are correct, raece doesn’t matter – but the truth is that discussion like this happen all the time.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago
  • * B says:

    Glad to be useful. I agree that this is good discussion.

    | Reply Posted 7 years, 1 month ago


  • Leave a Reply

        Follow

    Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

